RSS

Vitamins, Valium, and Sciatica

11 Oct

Lonely on Earth

Man with backache leaning against wall

I have a pinched sciatic nerve. Some days the pain is so bad my teeth chatter, as though I’m freezing – but it’s merely an expression of intense pain. At night, I cover my right side in a chain of analgesic patches from hip to ankle. It’s the only way I sleep. I wake and smell of camphor and menthol. I peel the patches off before I shower; it hurts less than tearing off  band aids, but sometimes they leave red marks.

I eat breakfast, I take vitamins – and then a muscle relaxer to stave off the spasms that have come routinely to at first hint and then insist on moving in by mid afternoon. I put on my professional clothes and my makeup, try to do something passable with my wild hair, and pack for the day. On the train, I smile at the conductor as I board, show my pass, and finally lay my head against…

View original post 460 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 11, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
